top of page

A True Story; Selling vs Stories


We're all so caught up in our exercise to sell our products or services that we don't realize that all it takes is to show that you really care in all honesty to get your message across. This not only builds up relationships but also taking a different approach helps you to accomplish what you first set out to do - and that is sell your product. Here is a story you should take the time to read, it will help you to understand this concept...

Many years ago, a French poet named Jacque Prevert was walking down the street. As he walked along his way, he saw a beggar asking for money. And for whatever reason Jacque decided this day to stop and ask him, "How's it going?". The beggar looked in his direction and Jacque noticed that he was blind. In fact, he had a sign that said, "I'm blind". The beggar said, "Well, it's not going very well. People walk by and they don't leave any money in my hat. Would you give me some money?". Well Jacque said, "Well I'm a poor writer so I have no money, but perhaps I could rewrite your sign for you." The beggar said, "By all means.".

So Jacque took the cardboard, flipped it over and wrote a new sign and then went about his day. Well a few days later Jacque was walking along the same path, came across the same beggar and decided to ask the same question. He said, "How's it going?". And this time the beggar's tune had changed. He said, "People have been so generous lately. They walk by, my hat fills up three times a day. Thank you, thank you for what you wrote on my sign." And what Jacque had written was this, "Spring is coming, but I won't see it." He changed the sign from "I'm blind" to a story.

And this story illustrates the power of storytelling, which is that great stories build relationships and make people care. People didn't care nearly as much about the blind man when he was simply asking for money. When he shared what it was like to be in his shoes, when he shared his story, they felt more empathy for him and they were inclined to help him. Great stories build relationships and make people care. And research shows that this is true. Stories make us feel more connected to each other. If you think about the way we got civil rights, people who were from different backgrounds, different ideas linked arms and they came together because of the stories of their fellow humans who needed these rights.

Stories are powerful and once you learn the mechanics of stories you can use them to build relationships and make people care about you and about what you care about. If you do this, you'll be able to harness stories to improve your work, to make better human connections and even to change your life.

Ann Marot

Credits: Shane Snow


My Notice Board

Check out...

Visit my 'Private Services' page to see what is on offer -

includes FREE consultation.

Click Button below & I'll take you there.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Journey

A year ago, I decided it’s time to change my lifestyle. This meant taking control of my life and making important decisions...

My Affiliate Sites
Neurogym affiliate site
Magcreator affiliate site
Visi website

Check out my 'Free4U' 

& claim your free stuff!

Coming soon! click for more information

bottom of page